//
you're reading...
Chelsea Neighborhood Association

Chelsea Neighborhood Association A.C. Candidates Debate

25 October, MMVII

Candidates for Fifth Ward, Sixth Ward, and At-Large Councilman seats addressed the monthly meeting of the Chelsea Neighborhood Association.  The At-Large Council candidates spoke first, then the Fifth and Sixth Ward candidates spoke.

In between, Acting Mayor William “Speedy” Marsh gave an address to the crowd.  His speech was rather prolonged, given the nature of his position in the debate.  He was supposed to introduce the candidates and ended up giving a stump speech.  Members of the audience later remarked how Marsh’s speech was partisan toward Ernest Coursey. 

Independent Coursey, Republican Michael Toland, and Incumbent Democrat George Tibbitt are the three candidates for Councilman At-Large.  Incumbent Tibbitt went first. “We are in times of embarrassment,” said Tibbitt.  On the looming tax re-val, Tibbitt said, “we are trying to make the re-val as painless as possible.”

Coursey was Deputy Mayor under former Mayor Lorenzo Langford.  Coursey is from the 4th Ward.  He is from a family of 12.  Touting his 11 1/2 years as a Councilman and 4 years as Deputy Mayor, Coursey deplores the current state of political affairs.  “We have lost our way and we need to get back on track,” said Coursey.

Republican Toland has a degree in Urban Studies.  He combines his intellectual capacity with a history of public service.  He is a military veteran. On improvements in Lower Chelsea: “that is not the role of City Council.  A Councilman can only encourage something that is already supposed to be re-done,” said Toland.

Fifth Ward Councilman Dennis Mason did not have a challenger.  Mike Zingarelli was attending a friend’s funeral and visiting with the family.  Mason spoke of his record as a Councilman and the various initiatives he has proposed, as well as his committee work.

Steve Layman, an Independent candidate in the Sixth Ward, is a seven year resident of that Ward.  He has a history in government.  He was a Committee Member and Mayor of Hainesport, NJ.  He is unhappy with the performance of Incumbent Sixth Ward Councilman Tim Mancuso.  Layman summed up his reason for running: “I want an opportunity to have your voice and choice heard.”

Independent Sixth Ward candidate Ytit Chauhan would be the youngest Councilman, if elected.  He has begun to get some media attention.  There are people taking his campaign seriously.  Chauhan – a cigarette smoker – said, “I support a 100% smoking ban.”  Through the course of his speaking he went back and forth between declaring himself an “Independent” and a “Democrat.”  Chauhan proposed that the Badar Field development question be put to a referendum. 

Incumbent Mancuso reminded people of the threat of the evil elements in city government.  He promised that he was hard at work to get the right person pu-in as Mayor.

Carol Ruffu, a Chelsea Neighborhood Candidates’ Debate Moderator, said “We had a good turnout for a rainy night.  The audience really did not turn in a large number of question but I think that the public that attended got a good idea of what the individual candidates stood for.”

(Cara Kurtz contributed to this report.)

About Jesse O. Kurtz

I am committed to fulfilling the promise of Atlantic City. The town would benefit from greater political participation by average citizens. Hopefully, some of the posts herein will encourage you to get more involved in your community. This blog will also feature other topics and subjects beyond Atlantic City. I hope that you will come to love Atlantic City as much, or more than I do.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Chelsea Neighborhood Association A.C. Candidates Debate

  1. Anyone who was present at the Forum last night clearly witnessed what isn’t written in this column. Everyime I spoke I received a round of applause, unlike either of my opponents. I was the only candidate who spoke from the heart and didn’t sound robotic or scripted. As the forum ended the audience rushed to come speak to me to offer kind words of support and encouragment, I stayed for another half hour after the forum ended shaking everyones hand and accepting their compliments. There was 1 clear winner at last night’s forum, and that would be Ytit Chauhan, 6th ward Council Candidate.

    For the record, I only referred to myself as a Democrat once, and that was regarding the question of unions. I believe it was an appropriate time to let the people know my party registration, as Democrats are well respected within the Union community. I don’t know who was covering this event last night, but please try to get your facts and analysis in order before you go off posting inadaquate and misleading information.

    Thanks

    Ytit Chauhan

    Posted by Ytit Chauhan | October 26, 2007, 3:05 pm
  2. Ytit, I hope that you do not choke on your conceit. I too was present and witnessed everything posted on the blog, but none of what you claimed. You stated that you did not sound, “scripted or robotic.” You sounded like an idiot; it would be chaos to put the fate of Badar Field on the Ballot. Also your thug acquaitenances, present with you in great number, discredited any claim you made about being different from the present corruption.

    Posted by Cecilia | October 26, 2007, 6:48 pm
  3. Mike Toland’s interview posted here yesterday shows that he’s got much more credibility than Mr. Chauhan. He went out of his way not to denigrate his opponents but Mr. Chauhan goes out of his way TO downgrade his opponents. Mr. Chauhan, if you have any ideas or ways to make the city better, let’s hear them. We’ve already got plenty of blowhard pols who think their shit doesn’t stink. We don’t need one more.

    Posted by dave | October 26, 2007, 7:11 pm
  4. My “thug acquaitenances’ you’re referring to Cecilia would be my friends. I am getting young people from all walks of life interested in the political process, and if you don’t like the way they dress or they look, then keep your narrow minded opinions to your self. As far as your correlation that my 19 year old friends who attend college full time and work part time have anything to do with political corruption in this town, I don’t even know how to respond to such a rediculous statement. I’m not sure how your reasoning seems to work, but you sound like a bigot and I’m very grateful that I don’t have your support.

    Posted by Ytit Chauhan | October 26, 2007, 9:55 pm
  5. Dave, I agree that Mike Toland is a very qualified and credible individual. I always enjoy listening to him speak on issues because I can tell he’s got a total grasp on how things work. You’re mistaken when you say I “downgrade my opponents”, what I do is try to showcase our differences as best as possible. My campaign is based on one prime issue, and that would be that the political system here in AC is rigged against regular people who would like to get involved. I’ve been told by various prominent pols in this City and County that I should have waited my turn instead of run for this Council seat this year. Too many things in this town are pre-ordained by that powers that be, if you’re a new candidate without any affiliation with one political faction at the other, then you’re considered a threat to all factions in the city, and people will smear my name as much as possible.

    As I always say, it’s easy to criticize others while you’re sitting on the bench. I was in that same position until I entered this campaign, there’s only so much one can do being an innocent and inconsequential bystander in this town. If you want good candidates elected, then go knock on some doors for them, do a little phone banking, help out at the polls on election day. Posting on blogs isn’t going to change a damn thing in this city.

    As a young person I thrive on constructive criticism, but making absurd statements that have 0 significance to the topic at hand isn’t warranted.

    You all get the government you deserve.

    Posted by Ytit Chauhan | October 26, 2007, 10:10 pm
  6. To everyone reading this statement. I would like to clear the air about city council candidate Ytit Chauhan. Chauhan and I have been friends for several years and I have witnessed time and time again the devotion Ytit has to the glorious city and his ward. For example, on a Friday night while most teenagers are out drinking and partying, Ytit and I were painting signage for the campaign which I am sure many residents saw and now realize that they were stolen. Ytit is extremely mature and goal oriented for his age. The reference to thugs above is childish. What about Tim Mancuso’s thugs? On primary day in June, I was called a “fagget” by Tim Mancuso’s thugs for wearing a pink shirt. Buddy Mancuso and his uneducated friends are the thugs. I’m sure you are thinking “oh this kid is a thug too.” I am not. I am a Margate resident. I am a sophomore deans list student at Franklin & Marshall College, a selective and rigorous liberal arts college. Ytit understands people, has persepective, is wise beyond his years, and attends GWU one of the most expensive institutions in the country. I urge voters, who will be seeing alot of Ytit in the neigborhood in the next few weeks to get to know him and realize that he can and will make a difference in your ward.

    Posted by Alex Rovins | October 27, 2007, 1:41 am

Leave a Reply

