//
you're reading...
AC City Council, Casino Gaming

Fight the Smoking Ban

   Many people feel helpless in the face of recent decisions made by government.   The Congress and President blatantly violate the Constitution by bailing out Wall Street crooks and nationalizing parts of the mortgage and insurance businesses.   The Governor and state legislature blatantly violate the state constitution by borrowing billions of dollars without a vote of the people.   Earlier this year, City Council and Mayor Evans caved to the pressure from UAW labor union and an anti-smoking coalition to handicap the casino industry.   They banned smoking in casinos.   The ban goes in to effect 15 October, unless City Council acts.


(Photo credit – http://www.glocals.com/forums/Uploads/Images/6d5a61fe-f8a9-4dd3-b004-9a24.jpg)

   Call the Mayor and City Councilmen.   Tell them that denying freedom to businesses hurts business and the residents of our town.   Government should stay out of the economy.   Give smokers the right to pick a smoking casino in which to work or play and allow non-smokers the same right of choice.

Mayor Scott Evans, 609.347.5400, sevans@cityofatlanticcity.org

Councilmen At-Large:

   George Tibbitt, 609.347.5241, gtibbitt@cityofatlanticcity.org
   John Schultz, 609.347.5243, jschultz@cityofatlanticcity.org
   Eugene Robinson, 609.347.6491, erobinson@cityofatlanticcity.org

Ward Councilmen:

6th – Tim Mancuso, 609.347.5238, tmancuso@cityofatlanticcity.org
5th – Dennis Mason, 609.347.5233, dmason@cityofatlanticcity.org
4th – William Marsh, 609.347.5242, wmarsh@cityofatlanticcity.org
3rd – Steven Moore, 609.347.5230, smoore@cityofatlanticcity.org
2nd – Marty Small, 609.347.5231, msmall@cityofatlanticcity.org
1st – G. Bruce Ward, 609.347.5232, bward@cityofatlanticcity.org

Advertisements

About Jesse O. Kurtz

I am committed to fulfilling the promise of Atlantic City. The town would benefit from greater political participation by average citizens. Hopefully, some of the posts herein will encourage you to get more involved in your community. This blog will also feature other topics and subjects beyond Atlantic City. I hope that you will come to love Atlantic City as much, or more than I do.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Fight the Smoking Ban

  1. All they need to do is look at what is happening to Illinois casinos. Indiana,s expanding casinos were advertising job openings on Illinois radio stations, probably looking for experienced casino workers laid off in Illinois.

    Posted by Bob | October 7, 2008, 2:43 pm
  2. Look at Dover Downs and all of the smokeFREE restaurants that are very successful! Why do you place blame on saving lives and making a healthier workplace? Oh, yeah, for your right of choice. Casino workers don’t have the same rights as everyone else in NJ?
    Bunch of bull. Keep the smoking ban and keep your rights to smoke in your own private home.

    Posted by danny | October 7, 2008, 6:55 pm
  3. A lost cause, freedom is non-existent in hopeless New Jersey, Atlantic City has a plastic bag over it’s head, called the Langford/Marsh/Hurley council. Let them have their facist ban, and the city falls into the sea. It will take that to wake them up to the repression they’ve done.

    Posted by reader | October 7, 2008, 8:27 pm
  4. Danny:

    Dover Downs laid off a couple of hundred employees and lost money for 2 years before they even got level with the revenue that was coming in before smoking was banned. And DD doesn’t even have that many employees since they don’t have tables. So check your facts before you tell me how glorious it is in Dover Downs. And no one is saying that we should allow smoking in the restaurants. That’s ancient history. All we want is for gamblers to enjoy their smokes. And not even on the entire floor. We’ll accept the 25 percent that they have now.

    Do you think casino workers would rather have their jobs or a “healthy” environment? Once all casino locations in the northeast ban smoking, then we can have a full smoking ban. Until then, you’re risking thousands of jobs, millions in taxes, benefits for the seniors and disabled, and future development in AC just to satisfy a few anti-smoking fanatics!

    And if the city council ever did a head count on the people who showed up at the council meetings demanding the smoking ban, they would have realized the were ALL out of towners. They are so stupid, they didn’t even know that allowing smoking to continue would not cost them one vote.

    Posted by dave202 | October 7, 2008, 9:07 pm
  5. 10/9–I was very glad to see that some of the members of council came to their senses and delayed the ban. Now, I’m thinking, that some kind of fix was on, but no matter how, the sensible people stopped the gang of unamerican self-appointed casino controllers and witch-hunters who are focusing on the smokers lately have been defeated, and hopefully, although a lot of damage has already been done, that the year will see good common sense prevail, and they’ll change their minds about this repressive unamerican interference with the casino’s private business. Congratulations for all your effort, Jesse.

    Posted by reader | October 9, 2008, 8:53 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: More Poor Economic Thinking re: Atlantic City Casinos « The Atlantic City Scoop - November 4, 2008

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: